A Night in October

4ffb69143423b9f1dffd2b023849cdc3
I can feel Winter wrap around me like a cloak,
But it's only October,
When the wind whips up it's hard to remember ever being warm at all,
The Autumn chill calls red into my cheeks and blue into my fingertips,

Inside,
Cups of tea and a film fest,
Legs over legs and,
The embrace of your neck,
It's like homecoming,

-But outside,
I tense up,
The cold separating me from the flock,
An empty horror of train tracks spreads infinitely before me,
The overarching darkness,
Pulls out shadows that dance in the streetlamps,
When no one is on the platform,
No eyes open on the overpass,
I dance with them,

In the cold,
Howling at the moon,
My skins like bone,
And I'm only a shadow after all.






Leave a Reply

