Frankenstein (Play Script)

I wrote a play. Then I performed the play for A-Level Drama. 
Here is said play.
It's an adaptation of Mary Shelley's 'Frankenstein'. 
Obviously.
It was written to be twenty minutes long, hence why there's sort of 
not much of anything.

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 19.23.31
           


"FRANKENSTEIN"

SCENE ONE: THE CREATION

[Brief Strobe Lights + Rain and Lightening]

VICTOR
Work damn you, work! 

[Strobe lighting, back stage clanking.]

VICTOR
Live!

[Dim lights. Pause. The MONSTER moves its leg slowly and groans]
[Spotlight]

VICTOR
(Barely a whisper.) It’s alive.


SCENE 2: ELIZABETH COMES HOME

VICTOR
When I was a child my mother sat me down and said "I have a pretty present 
for my Victor--tomorrow he shall have it.”

(ELIZABETH enters and curtsy’s to the wide-eyed boy.) 

VICTOR
My mother presented Elizabeth to me and God she was pretty, thin and fair 
with blue cloudless eyes. I interpreted my mother’s words literally, and
Elizabeth was mine.

ELIZABETH
What am I to call you? Being that we’re not siblings, brother seems 
a little false.

VICTOR
Cousin. We should be cousins. 

(With a smile he jerks toward her, offering her his hand)

Shall I introduce you to the rest of our family? I’m sure that they’ll 
love you.

ELIZABETH
(Demurely)

I’d like that.

SCENE THREE: YEARS LATER, ELIZABETH'S THOUGHTS 

ELIZABETH
For years Victor and I were closer than anyone else in our home.
Our bond was unmeasurable, unconquerable! Even when we lost dear
Ms. Beaufort, his mother, to scarlet fever, even then we were inseparable; 
we shared each other’s pain. We were only seventeen then, but that 
connection followed us to adulthood. Now, I am a woman… (To herself. 
Almost offside.) I must think of marriage soon.

(Recovering) And Victor has turned into a handsome young man! 
He has left us to attend University in Ingolstadt. He’s studying 
science there, they say he shows promise! But I don’t hear much from 
him anymore… no-one hears much from him anymore. 

I worry.

SCENE FOUR: NEW BOY IN TOWN

[Bright lights, house lights?]
[Wearing bonnets. All in a row at the front of stage, clasped hands]

LADY 1
Have you heard of that young Doctor? His methods seem particularly odd.

LADY 2
Oh yes, you know the things people’ve been saying, apparently he doesn’t 
believe in God!

LADY 3
I saw him! I saw him come out from his room, though he was looking 
extremely disheveled.

LADY 1
You know what I heard…? Come closer, come closer…I heard that he works for 
the devil…

[Looks up to the window, worried, then back to group]

[BLACK OUT]

SCENE FIVE: THE CREATION - AGAIN!

VICTOR
Work damn you, work! 

[Rain and Lightning]

VICTOR
Live!

[Strobe lights stop. Pause. The MONSTER moves its leg slowly]

VICTOR
(Barely a whisper.) It’s alive.

[The monster grabs at VICTOR'S arm, yearning for some form of comfort, 
he is visibly afraid. VICTOR yells out and rips his hand away, 
he’s disgusted. The MONSTER stumbles from the table, by this point 
VICTOR is gagging with disgust. The MONSTER follows him.] 

MONSTER
Urghhhh? 

VICTOR
What? What are you?

(The MONSTER reaches towards Victor, brushing his shirt lightly)

Oh God, no, this thing isn’t what I wanted. This…this is a step 
backwards for science…It must be erased.

(VICTOR leaves)

SCENE SEVEN: THE CREATION - AGAIN, AGAIN!

VICTOR
Work damn you, work! 

[Instruments to make lots of noise]

VICTOR
Live!

[Strobe lights stop. Pause. The MONSTER moves its leg slowly]

VICTOR
(Barely a whisper.) It’s alive.

[The MONSTER grabs at VICTOR'S arm, yanking him towards the table. Victor 
yells out, stumbling away as the monster sits up and shambles towards him. 
VICTOR is terrified, the monster look malicious at best. 
In fear, VICTOR runs away.]

VICTOR
What? What are you?

(The MONSTER reaches towards VICTOR, grabbing his shirt which 
VICTOR yelps at and tears away)

Oh God, no, this thing isn’t what I wanted. 

 (VICTOR runs outside before collapsing to the ground in floods of confused 
tears)

This…this is a step backwards for science…It must be erased.

(VICTOR leaves)

SCENE EIGHT: FRANKENSTEIN'S MONSTER

MONSTER
Was everything abandoned at birth? Did all fathers flee like cowards and 
leave their creatures to rot? My creator showed me no sympathy and 
I expected no less from the outside world. 

You left me alone Victor, creator, but I ate your bread and wore your 
clothes and read your books. I ardently studied your Shakespeare and your
 Tennyson until I could understand this hell that is all around me. I have 
rarely left this room creator, but when I have, I have been met with 
terrified stares and the backs of people’s hands. You brought me into this 
world, you fathered this atrocity! I would rather be the corpse I was than 
whatever you have made of me. 

…There is only rejection creator, but I find no solace in tears. We will 
meet again Victor Frankenstein and you will not know true terror 
until I have shown it you.

SCENE WHATEVER I DON'T EVEN KNOW THE NUMBER: SILENT SCENE

[VICTOR sits at a desk, he writes on various papers as rain patters in the 
background. We need steps from the back so that the monster can creep up on 
him. Moonlight Sonata begins as the MONSTER very slowly approaches VICTOR. 
VICTOR looks up. He knows someone is watching him but by the time he turns
 around. The MONSTER is gone.]

SCENE NINE: MURDER IN THE TOWN

[Tophats. Strong posture]

GENTLEMAN 1
You’ll never guess what, there’s been another!

GENTLEMAN 2
A murder?

GENTLEMAN 3
I hear it was that young doctor’s brother!

GENTLEMAN 2
They’ve sentenced a lady, but she’s got more than time (mimes drawing a
line across his throat 'death'.) 

GENTLEMAN 1
A woman isn’t capable of such a horrendous crime! Oh what a poor child, 
taking his very last breath...

GENTLEMAN 3
Oh woman or no woman, hang her! Send her to her death!

GENTLEMAN 2
But I’ve seen this great big brute around, gave me quiet a fright.

GENTLEMAN 1
You don’t think it was him that did it? In the middle of the night?

GENTLEMAN 3
If it was we’ll find him! And string him up by his throat!

GENTLEMAN 2
And when he’s dead, we’ll take his head, make sure that the body won’t float.

SCENE NINE: LOVE IS IN THE AIR (SO IS DEATH BUT WE'LL JUST IGNORE THAT.)

(VICTOR is pacing, (rain and thunder) ELIZABETH comes in. VICTOR looks 
disturbed.)

ELIZABETH
Victor…? What’s wrong? You look like death.

VICTOR

Elizabeth, I’ve made a mistake. Oh God, have I made a mistake!

ELIZABETH
Victor, you’re shaking!

(VICTOR turns around and takes her by her shoulder, shaking her hard)

VICTOR
That woman was innocent. She didn’t kill our brother!

ELIZABETH
Victor you’re frightening me! Of course she killed the boy, God rest his 
soul, the evidence was there!

VICTOR
I know what killed him Elizabeth and it was no woman or man. It was… It’s 
returned to me now, only God knows the reason, but it stands outside the 
window. Its come back for me. 

(Tentatively, ELIZABETH goes to the ‘window’, a crack of 
thunder reflects the silhouette of the MONSTER at the window, she shrieks)

ELIZABETH
Victor! Victor what is that! 

VICTOR
It’s my creation... 

Elizabeth, there is a bridge between life and death, and I’ve managed to 
erase the flicker that separates one from the other…. 

Elizabeth… my dear, sweet cousin, I say this now only because I do not know 
when else I will be able to say it. 

…I love you and if I live throughout tonight I should like to marry you. 

ELIZABETH
Oh. Victor. I’m frightened.

(VICTOR, downtrodden, lets go of her hand)

(Quickly, as an afterthought) I should like to marry you too.

VICTOR
My love, stay in this room, open this door for no-one, I may be gone 
for some time but I will come back for you.

[VICTOR kisses her hand, ELIZABETH stays on stage whilst VICTOR
walks ‘outside’]

SCENE TEN: A CONFRONTATION

(VICTOR paces the street, searching, there is a street light suddenly there 
is a pop and all the lights go out. When the light comes back up, the
 monster is strangling VICTOR(stage strangle of course, I don’t want to die))

MONSTER
I have returned, creator!

(The MONSTER discards VICTOR who scrambles away, choking and spluttering)

VICTOR
What do you want from me? I gave you life! Was that not enough?

MONSTER
[Walking menacingly towards VICTOR] Life?! You did not give me life! You 
merely gave me existence but you did not give me the means to live. There is 
no-one to show me affection here, no warmth or love. And you know, 
Frankenstein, that to love and be loved is what it truly means to be living.

VICTOR
Why don’t you kill me and be through with it! After all that I have caused
 death would be no threat. 

MONSTER
[Pauses. Walking away almost mocking] Kill you? Au contraire, creator.
 I need you. You will make me a bride. Beautiful, fair skin and 
eyes like the summer sky and she will love me, she will be like me. 
Then and only then will I leave you.

VICTOR
(Getting to his feet)

I am a doctor. Not some murderer. And you will always be what a made of you…
who could love such a monster?

(Victor laughs, no longer afraid, and runs.)

MONSTER
You’ll regret this, Frankenstein! You and all that you love!

SCENE TEN: OUTCAST.

CHILD 1
Did you see the mob jump that guy last night? I heard they left him for dead.

CHILD 2
Nah, he was still breathing. But they split those weird stitches in his head.

CHILD 3
You should report it. See what the police have to say. 

CHILD 2
I’m gonna find the ugly sod; try to chase him away.

CHILD 3
Oh don’t do that! I hear people’ve been hurt and my knife’s only homemade!

CHILD 1
What’s he gonna do eh? We’re tougher than him, don’t tell me that you’re 
afraid…

SCENE ELEVEN: A BEAUTIFUL BRIDE. 

(Rain/Thunder/‘Lightening’ (the backlight flashing occasionally))

ELIZABETH

(Sitting on the floor, middle of room. Clearly nervous. Flash)

We’ll get married.

(Flash of light)

We’ll go somewhere together, maybe the countryside where we can raise our 
children. 

(Flash of light reveals the MONSTER at the window)

I wonder if that thing is still out there. (Shudders) Maybe I should check…

(Flash. The MONSTER hands are on the window. He’s come for her.)

[Suddenly, all the lights in the studio go out. There is darkness as 
dark as the dark of the dark night. Darknessssss.]

[All you can hear is the sound of a heartbeat and ELIZABETH'S harsh, 
panicked breaths.]

[The lights come back on and in quick succession we see ELIZABETH'S relief 
and the MONSTER breaking her neck. She falls to the ground. Silence.]

[VICTOR returns, shouting for ELIZABETH. As he sees her body we see him 
almost throw up, gagging at the site. He stops, breathing and sobbing. 
Suddenly, he sizes up to his creation, the small figure of VICTOR is 
dominated by the MONSTER and VICTOR realises he has no chance. He shrinks.]

VICTOR
(To audience)

I could not kill it…I could not end what I had started. 

MONSTER
You have but two options Frankenstein, and one means you’ll never see 
Elizabeth again.

(The MONSTER and VICTOR look at each other and they both know what to do. 
They take ELIZABETH behind the screen and set her on the gurney, the very 
gurney the MONSTER himself had been made on. Moonlight Sonata begins in the 
background. The MONSTER passes VICTOR various implements as he gets to work
on ELIZABETH'S body, completely in silhouette. 

VICTOR drives a knife into her stomach, cutting her open, we can see 
even by his shadow he is sickened. He tosses the knife to his assistant, his 
creation, and begins to remove her intestines. Then, he grabs some thread 
and sews her up. Finally, she awakes! And VICTOR is joyous! But as he 
shows a mirror to her, ELIZABETH panics, hating her new being, her new 
existence. SHE SCREAMS as she swipes up a knife/scalpel from the table, 
kicks VICTOR in the face and then threatens him with the knife. His hands go out
 as if to make peace, then ELIZABETH turns it on herself, slicing her throat and 
falling, bloody, to the floor... her hand spills out of the side of the 
screen.

NOO!! VICTOR and the MONSTER flock to her side. Distraught. Eventually,
 VICTOR emerges. His hands and shirt are smeared with 
blood up to the elbow, his nose is bleeding from the kick to his face, 
his hair is wild and he looks utterly insane.

 He addresses the audience.)

VICTOR
If you thought that I would have learnt my lesson, dear audience. You were 
sadly mistaken. If you were looking for a tale of redemption or a 
commentary on what is good and what is evil you were looking in the wrong 
place. The lines are blurred; I can and always will promise you that. 
Science and faith, right and wrong. Even now I still cannot decide. At what 
point did I become the monster? At what point did my monster become the man?!
 
I don’t know… but now all I love lies in a shallow grave. 

And I have tried asking God for forgiveness, for unleashing
this monstrosity into the world. I pray for my sins, for this... blood. 
I ask him for forgiveness night after night… but God will not answer.

[Victor returns behind the screen and the stage slowly fades to blackness.
 All the while Moonlight Sonata continues to play]



The End


Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 19.18.33
Leave a Reply

